Research School for Economic and Social History


24 - 28 June 2024
Groningen city centre (exact locations tba)

Financial, Economic and Business History Summer School (University of Groningen)

The Financial, Economic and Business History (FEB-HIS) Summer School for PhD students and Postdocs will take place in Groningen from Monday 24 June to Friday 28 June 2024. It is organised by the Faculty of Economics and Business of the University of Groningen (UG) and made possible thanks to funding by NWO, the Groningen Growth and Development Centre and the European Historical Economics Society. The FEB-HIS Summer School is coordinated by Posthumus fellow Amaury de Vicq and Posthumus PhD Thalassa de Waal

The school’s main aim is to offer PhD students and Postdocs the opportunity to develop core research skills, ranging from presenting their research project, receiving feedback, providing commentary on the work of their peers, and moderating each other’s sessions. Participants will receive feedback on their presentations from leading scholars in the field. Moreover, these scholars will deliver keynote speeches on the latest developments in financial, economic and business history, shedding light on the digitization of historical data and innovative research methodologies. Moreover, students will receive guidance on publishing their work from (former) journal editors and gain valuable insights into academic career prospects. In celebration of the third female (and first in economic history) Noble Memorial Prize winner in Economic Sciences, Claudia Goldin, we will also pay particular attention to women in academia.

Confirmed speakers are Posthumus board members Jutta Bolt (University of Groningen & Lund University) and Abe de Jong (University of Groningen & Monash University), Posthumus alumni Sandra de Pleijt (Wageningen University) and Selin Dilli (Utrecht University) as well as Rui Pedro Esteves (Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Geneva), and Sibylle Lehmann-Hasemeyer (University of Hohenheim).

Deadline for applications is 15 March 2024. A registration fee for admitted participants applies.