Research School for Economic and Social History

ESTER Courses

The European Graduate School for Training in Economic and Social Historical Research (ESTER) is a Europe-wide network of leading scholars in the field of social and economic history. Established in 1991 by the NWP , the ESTER programme aims to improve and internationalise the training of a new generation of scholars in the field. To attain these goals, ESTER organises two annual events: the Datini-ESTER Advanced Seminar and the Research Design Course.

Research Design Course

The ESTER Research Design Course takes place in a different city each year. At this three-day conference, up to 40 NWP PhD candidates present and discuss their research design, guided by a team of about 15 senior scholars from the ESTER network (see below). This gathering of  PhD students from different European universities working in social and economic history leads to fruitful discussions that will help to put PhD projects on track to timely completion.


Advanced Seminars

The Datini-ESTER Advanced Seminar is organised in cooperation with the “F. Datini” International Institute of Economic History, and always takes place in the beautiful atmosphere of Prato (Italy). This seminar is open to fifteen advanced PhD students and post-docs and focuses on a different topic each year.

ESTER Network Members

Professor Maria Ågren, Uppsala University
Professor Guido Alfani, Bocconi University
Professor Lena Andersson-Skog, Umeå University
Professor Gareth Austin, University of Cambridge
Dr Tobias Axelsson, Lund University
Professor Andrés Barrera González, Madrid Universidad Complutense
Professor Sune Bechmann Pedersen, Lund University
Professor Erik Bengtsson, Lund University
em. Professor Huw Bowen, Swansea University
em. Professor Kristine Bruland, University of Oslo
Professor Erik Buyst, KU Leuven (Faculty of Economics)
Professor Claude Chevaleyre, CNRS, Lyons Institute of East Asian Studies
Professor Joaquim da Costa Leite, University of Aveiro
Dr Maïka De Keyzer, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
Dr Jessica Dijkman, Utrecht University
Professor Lars Edgren, Lund University
Professor Kerstin Enflo, Lund University
Professor Giovanni Federico, New York University Abu Dhabi
Professor Lourenzo Fernández Prieto, University of Santiago de Compostela
Jun.-Prof. Dr. Christine Fertig, University of Münster
Professor Torsten Feys, Flanders Maritime Institute (VLIZ)
Professor Helder Fonseca, University of Évora
Professor José Ignacio Fortea Pérez, University of Cantabria
Professor Leonor Freire Costa, Universidade de Lisboa
Dr Ben Gales, Rijksuniversiteit Groningen
Professor Regina Grafe, European University Institute, Florence
Professor Francesco Guidi Bruscoli, Università degli Studi Firenze
Professor Milan Hlavačka, Czech Acadey of Sciences
Professor Angelique Janssens, Radboud University
Dr Rogier van Kooten, Utrecht University
Professor Michael Kopczyński, University of Warsaw
em. Professor Jonas Ljungberg, Lund University
Professor Paolo Malanima, Magna Graecia University of Catanzaro
Professor Tomas Mantecon Movellan, University of Cantabria
Professor Rita Martins de Sousa, Universidade de Lisboa
Dr Susana Münch Miranda, Universidade de Lisboa
Professor Marjaani Niemi, University of Tampere
Dr Svante Norrhem, Lund University
Professor Alessandro Nuvolari, Sant’ Anna School of Advanced Studies
Professor Hanne Østhus, Norwegian University of Science and Technology
Dr Bartosz Ogórek, Pedagogical University of Cracow
Professor Deborah Oxley, University of Oxford
Professor Jorge Miguel Pedreira, Universidade Nova de Lisboa
Dr Faustine Perrin, Lund University
Dr Sandra de Pleijt, Wageningen University and Research
Professor Socrates D. Petmezas, University of Crete, Athens
Professor Amélia Polónia, Universidade do Porto
Professor Paulina de los Reyes, University of Stockholm
Professor Biagio Salvemini, University of Bari
Professor José Manuel Santos Pérez, University of Salamanca
Professor Phillip Sarasin, University of Zurich
Professor Carmen Sarasúa, Autonomus University of Barcelona
Dr Eric Schneider, London School of Economics
Professor José Vincente Serrão, ISCTE – University Institute of Lisbon
Professor Annemarie Steidl, University of Vienna
Dr Deborah Toner, University of Leicester
Professor Nuno Valério, Lisbon School of Economics & Management, Universidade de Lisboa
Dr Jaco Zuijderduijn, Lund University

Contact details

The organisation of the ESTER-programme is conducted by the N.W. Posthumus Institute, currently hosted by Utrecht University. For information about the ESTER-programme, please contact us at

For our address details, please visit our Contact Page.